The last village on the northern border of the municipality Pozar is the Archangel. The view is breathtaking as lies the great plain of Upper Almopia, overgrown as the last tip. In the south rises the Paiko, tranquil mountain of earth, covered with beeches and oaks.
Old village called Ossiani. Renamed in 1925 Archangel from the name of the Monastery of the Archangel Michael, which is built on an ancient sanctuary. Burnt down around 1790 by Vlachs islamisized South and rebuilt in 1843.
Famous are the cherries and potatoes of the region and buns Archangel. Archangel with the beautiful square and the history of the monastery is a beautiful village to visit and discover. You will find all the amenities such as cafes, restaurants and cafes.
The monastery of Archangel Michael, literally throniazetai a natural stretch out with high altitude and from there, from the NE peaks of Mount Paiko, supervises the plateau of the North and the Jena Pinovo tops. The construction of simple and imposing line. It is 40 km from Aridea, through a very beautiful quiet route.
The history of the monastery is identified with that of Almopia the last centuries. Time, you got the feeling that has been frozen in the walls. The monastery was speculated that the period from 1181 to 1184.
The monastery of Archangel, 1790, had the same fate as the monastery of Promahi, that was besieged and destroyed by the Turks. The monks all died. It was then that exislamisthikan residents of South, who undertook the task of burning.
Monks and foreigners, those not killed, and scattered the desolation of the monastery lasted over half a century. In 1858 with the Sultan's license re-founded the monastery. The initiative is attributed to metropolitan Moglenon Meletios. With the reestablishment of the monastery and had renamed Monastery of Archangel Michael. It is speculated that this was done to commemorate the salvation of the inhabitants from the fury of converts to Islam on the day of the Archangel feast. With the re-establishment of the single retrieves the properties of an official document of the Turkish administration. Then begins the great cultural and educational activities. In cells of the Greek letters are taught.
From single out the first literate, who in turn educate residents of the area. By the time we arrive and the legendary era of the Macedonian Struggle. The monastery contributes to the supply of premises and the conspiratorial work of the monks in the great national cause. The current location, its physical access, convert it to a station for passing Greek guerrilla bodies.
According to Greek officers reports, the monastery is considered central weapons warehouse. In cell hospitalized in the period December-February 1905 Captain Matapas, when he broke his leg. And he used many times to cover the disguise as a priest of the monastery.
Besides the famous captain and other fighters, such Valanis and Dragas resorted to it for refueling and rest.
Today has six monks and a novice. Located under the spiritual guidance and blessings of Metropolitan Edessa, Pella and Almopia Mr. Joel.
As in other areas of the prefecture of Pella and here the people celebrate the famous cherries produced with a two-day event. Try cherries and products such as liqueurs and sweet cherry in festive rhythms with traditional dances and songs. The celebration of the Cherry takes place in July.